Glogster EDU


GlogsterEDU is a web-based application that allows you to create virtual "posters."  This easy and intuitive web 2.0 program allows you to make creative, interactive website/posters that can easily be shared. Mix Images, Text, Music and Video and more to illustrate understanding of concepts.  You can create classes that your students can log in to and you can oversee. You can even embed DEStreaming video clips and/or footage from the Flip cameras!  Make sure you go to the educational version below!  Then, create a free basic account and email me with your username/nickname.  I will then add you to our Sudbury subscription, which will give you access to the student lists.  You will also have access to the DRAW feature, which is not available in the non-subscription version.

SlideShare Tutorial on Glogster
Glogster Tutorial Video

My Glog on Glogs
How to attach documents to a Glog
Presentation Feature in Glogster



Advanced User Resources
"Comments" and Messages"from Lynn,
If you comment on the actual glog, everyone can see it.  I believe it says "Leave Comment." 


If you click on a student there will be an option under their picture that says "message me."  That is what I have used because it is totally private.  When the students log in there is an envelope next to their name with any messages in it...  Whenever you assign a project they will get a message post there. 


It appears that you can message groups of students, like those who have submitted a project.  You can also message the whole class which I sometimes do with specific directions for that computer lab time."


See more on messaging and grading below:

FAQ's...

How do I set up a class? 
Click on the “Create Class” button on your Teacher Dashboard. Next fill in the name, description, icon, and address information and then save your settings. Once you have competed these tasks you will see the Class Screen where you can assign students to the class, create projects for the class, and message your students.
How do I assign students to a class? 
Click on the “Add Classmates Here” button from your Class Screen. You will see a list of all of our student’s login names to the left. By selecting the “Assign” arrow you can quickly move students from your roster to the specific class. Once you have selected all the students you want in the class, click on the “Save & Assign Classmates” button. You will see a new screen which indicates that you have successfully assigned students to your class and you will have the option to continue. After you click on “Continue” you will return to the Class Screen and see the newly assigned classmates. You may assign or unassign students in your classes at any time by returning to the Class Screen. 
What will the classmates see when assigned to a class?
Their Dashboard will show the classes that you have assigned them to as well as which classmates are also in the class, and the projects that you want them to complete. When the students click on the “Class Name” they will see the Class Screen with class description, class projects, classmates, class Glogs, and class messages. They will not see other student’s projects/Glogs until the teacher makes the Glogs “Finished Private”. This will allow the teacher to determine the accessibility of other student’s Glogs to classmates that have yet to complete the assignment 

How do I create a project?
From your Class Screen or or Dashboard click on the “Create New Project” button. This will take you to the Create Project screen. Here you can create and/or select a template for the project, give the project a name, description, and tag and assign the project to a specific class. The template will allow you to provide guidance and suggestions of content for your student’s projects. You can chose to default to the standard Glog starting template if you chose. Additionally, you can provide a message to your student about the project with further instructions, due dates, and other important information. Finally, click on the “Save Project” button. You will now see the Project Detail screen. Here you will see the project you just created and the students/classes that are assigned this project. This is where the unfinished or finished Glogs will be displayed for you to comment on, review progress, and assess. 

What will the classmates see when assigned to a project?
Their Dashboard will show the classes and the projects that you have assigned to them. They can access the projects either through their Dashboard or their Class Screen. For direct access to the project, the student should click on the name of the project from their Dashboard. From the Project Screen, the student can create a Glog for that project. PLEASE NOTE – the student must start the Glog from the Project Screen by clicking on the “Create Glog for This Project” button. If the student does not complete this step and creates a Glog from their Dashboard, it will not be applied to the project.

How do I assign a grade or provide feedback for finished Glogs? 
Once the student has submitted their Glogs to you (Finished Private) just click on the Glog and you will see a “Teacher’s Feedback” box which will allow you to assign an alpha/numeric grade and provide comments. The grade will appear on the Glog in your Class Screen and on the Dashboard of the student that created it.

How do I monitor/regulate student messaging? 
Students can communicate by messaging only with the teacher. Communication student to student is allowed only in comments format. All the communication is visible to teacher and teacher can moderate all comments.

How do I regulate the completion status of Student’s Glogs? Under each Glog the teacher will find a “Teacher Menu” where they can set the name, visibility, tags, and category for all Glogs (theirs and their student’s).

Teachers are able to regulate the progress status of Glogs with the following settings: Unfinished, Finished and Public for All.
  • Unfinished - The student is still working on the Glog and needs more time to finish it. Only the student creating the Glog and you will be able to see the Glog on the student’s profile.
  • Finished - Only when the student is satisfied with his/her work and wants to show it to the others, will it be classified as “Finished.” The other students can then provide their comments concerning the “Finished” Glog.
  • Public for All - These Glogs will be able to be accessed by all Glogster EDU visitors whether logged in or not. You have agreed to release the Glog(s) to all public forums. Only you can set the Public for All status
  • Deleted – These Glogs are removed from all Glogster EDU and cannot be accessed anymore.
How to use the "Data" function when creating a Glog?
Click on the "Data" button within the magnetic toolbox as you create your Glog. Next click on the "Upload" button and you will be directed to your computer files. Select the document that you want to upload and double click it. Upon doing so, the document will appear in your "Data" library. Click on the document that you want to attach. You will see a new window which says "File added as attachment to this Glog". Select "OK", "Use It", and a small paper clip will appear in the bottom right corner of your Glog. Click on the paper clip and an "Attachment" window will open with the selected document attached. Click on the document and it will open. You may attach multiple documents to a single Glog. 

How to use the "Draw" function when creating a Glog?
Click on the "Draw" button within the magnetic toolbox as you create your Glog. A new "Draw" button will appear, click on it and start drawing. You have the option to change the color, width, and effects of the drawing tool and can edit what you have just drawn by clicking on the "Counter-clockwise Arrow". Once you are satisfied with what you have drawn, click "OK". You now have the option to "Edit" what you have just drawn. When final, each of your new drawings will appear in your "Gallery" to be used for subsequent Glogs. You may go back and edit your drawings at any time.

How to print a Glog or view it Full Screen?
Right-click, or Control-click the Glog and select Print or Full Screen to view full screen (Full Screen only fills the computer screen horizontally, not vertically).

No comments:

Post a Comment